General DiscussionBrowse Other Topics

• Corey's Game

Posted by Jean-Michel O'Donnell on September 1, 2022 at 8:14 am

During both of Corey’s August 31st videos, he mentioned his game.

I’m a systems programmer for Unreal Engine, beginner to intermediate. I’m not a great graphic artist, and my materials are pretty basic, but I can code most systems easily.

The basic engine type would depend on the story that needs to be told and how it needs to be told. Is it told through:

A Role Playing Game (an RPG, like D&D or Might & Magic).

An adventure game (like King’s Quest or Space Quest).

An endless runner (takes a few hours to make a very basic engine).

An interactive 3D comic, a fully 3D environment where the player can view the comic through their own camera and interact with the scene for a specific goal.

An open world adventure (like Witcher 3, need 100 – 200 people for that kind of game. Try it out!)

A hyper-monitized scheme that worships money as god (yep, small g). I’m out.

I can easily put together a few basic examples. I do work a regular job, so give me a week or two to put something together.

As I’m a PC guy, my Unreal Engine code will be Windows and Android compatible. If my code is compiled on a Mac with Unreal Engine (5.0.3 currently), it will then work on both Macs and iOS devices (iPhones and iPads). And UE5 is completely free. Until you make $1,000,000, then it’s 5% after.

• This discussion was modified 1 year, 7 months ago by  Jean-Michel O'Donnell. Reason: Two competing thoughts, sentence failed
    Jean-Michel O'Donnell replied 1 year, 6 months ago 2 Members · 9 Replies
  • 9 Replies
  • Jean-Michel O'Donnell

September 8, 2022 at 5:37 am

Week 1
    Demo 1: Infinite runner game. LOC Rescue.
    Run through the LOC tunnels and help rescue the survivors.
    Basic engine is done. Twice. I managed to corrupt the first project when creating the random wall/roof segments. Started over on day 3. Second went much smoother and is far more robust.